Day 36-Le Noble Brie

I’ve made some half-assed attempts at blogging before-but this blog is by far my most dedicated foray into the form. One of the interesting things about “wordpress-” that’s the site that’s hosting this blog, is that you can see how many people are looking at your blog, and also-how they get there, including specific search terms.  I’m noticing that I am getting several-um-unexpected hits from phrases including “milky sexy spread” today and “sticky man milk” yesterday.  If you have come here looking for “milky sexy spread” and/or “sticky man milk,” I feel as though I need to apologize for misleading you and your search engine.  I do suspect that there will be other sites on the web that will be able to help you meet your needs-in the meantime, please do take a look around, I suspect a well-rounded understanding of cheese may help you in your romantic endeavours.  Just a suggestion.

I’m pretty excited about this cheese today, as it’s actually called Brie, Le Noble Brie.  I have eaten several cheeses over the last week that claim to be “in the Brie family” or “similar to Brie,” but this is the first one coming out and claiming the big B for itself.  Prior to my obsession with cheese, Brie and Camembert were the only two bloomy rind cheeses that I had encountered-truthfully, I didn’t even know they were “bloomy rind” and thought of them as “squishy yummy French cheeses that people serve at parties that maybe you shouldn’t eat if you are knocked up and I don’t know why.” As you may recall, you shouldn’t eat them if they are raw milk and you are pregnant because of Listeria hysteria, and actually, the cheeses are related, as a priest well-versed in Brie introduced the technique to the lady who made the first Camembert.  See, I am learning.

So, what is Brie?

Brie is a soft cow’s milk cheese with a bloomy rind, it’s named after the Brie area of France, but is made, under this name, just about everywhere. In France, however, there are only two recognized types AOC, Brie de Meaux and Brie de Melun. Brie de Meaux has been made since at least 700 AD and was originally called the “king’s cheese” or “the king of Cheeses.”  Now, this is the second cheese to make this claim-the first being Epoisses, wow, we really have a battle royal here!

Brie can be made from all sorts of milk-from skim to whole, there are also fortified or triple cream Brie, which is basically Brie only fatter.  Interestingly, there’s also an aged very dark and mysterious Brie called Brie Noir-I must track that down at some time-looks raunchy!  Brie is only aged about a month before being ready for consumption, and is noted for an “excessive amount of ammonia” when over ripened-interestingly, I always thought that was part of the charm!

My cheese today, Le Noble Brie, is from Quebec and is a pasteurized brie, made by the Fromagerie Domaine Feodal, described as an “artisanal cheese dairy” run by a couple who are also cheese makers. It looks extremely gooey and sticky and wet (oh lord, what kind of search engine hits am I going to get with that sentence!) It’s actually making a mess here on my desk, leaving a brie trail everywhere.  It does have that ammonia smell to it, but not

overly so.

Here goes…

Oh yes, this cheese is pure sexiness.  It’s wet and oozy and licks you as you are eating it-I kid you not, this is a little harlot of a cheese.  It’s outrageously wet and runny and taste-pure erogenous.  It’s slightly sweet and slightly salty, but there’s an under flavour of something extremely mysterious here.  The flavour is carnal-clearly, yet also sweet and somewhat clandestine-it’s impossible to describe.  I don’t know if I would feed this in mixed company, it might start an orgy, what in the world have they done to this cheese!

Le Noble Brie, you get a 5 out of 5 for outrageous and mysterious flavour and ridiculously sexy texture, please use protection with this cheese, folks!

