Day 41-Delice de Bourgogne

 

Oh great, another f*cking triple cream brie.  Honestly, I can’t wait for this sick and plump little leg of my cheese journey to be over.  Cheese after cheese of triple cream brie-I realize that this may seem like trite-but it’s seriously getting on my nerves.  I always thought that I liked this kind of cheese.  Turns out that I do.  Once a year.  At Christmas.  At someone’s party.  It’s just too much, in my humble opinion, it’s the “Turducken” of the cheese world (a turkey with a duck stuffed inside it, with a chicken stuffed inside it) yes, it can be done, but, really, should it?  There’s an obesity epidemic people, could triple cream brie be behind it?

Delice de Bourgogne sounds suspiciously like Chateau de Bourgogne, which I reviewed 2 days ago.  This was ALSO a triple cream brie that I could basically not find out much about.  “De Bourgogne’ means, “of Burgundy” which is a region in France, but this geographic connection and their high butter fat percentages are the only similarity between the two cheeses-they are not from the same maker.  Unlike Chateau de Bourgogne, this Delice de Bourgogne has a huge online presence and fan base.  Also known as “Delice” (delicious, I think, is the translation, sounds good to me) is a commercially produced pasteurized cow cheese specific to one company and one family-the Lincet Fromagerie and Lincet family.  Like all the best fromageries, this one has a website which I urge you to visit, http://www.fromagerie-lincet.net/.  Although in French, it’s got a great lay out and photos and is actually quite informative.

Apparently, there is another Delice out there- a pale imitator cheese, so eaters are urged to check that their Delice is “Lincet” Delice-luckily, mine is!  The Lincet family is a fifth generation cheese making family, so while I use the word “commercial” to describe this cheese, it’s not really fair-it’s more of an organized family affair.The company has been in production since 1957, so it’s another relatively young cheese, and a twist on brie specific only to this company.

There are some serious fans of this Delice out there on the net.  People are saying that “this is the one,” so perhaps, Delice, it’s up to you to cure me of my triple cream malaise-if anyone can do it.

My little plop of Delice de Bourgogne, is gooey and inviting looking.  It’s trapped behind a piece of plastic, and it looks unhappy-I shall unwrap it-that’s better-it wanted to breath.  This cheese looks wet, there is cheese cream all over the plastic wrap, and it’s actually glistening-it looks like it’s about to run.  The rind-although bloomy-is not the pure white I was expecting, it has an orange hue to it, and frankly, is quite pungent-more that I would expect from a triple cream brie.  This cheese smells like it’s gone out for a long slow run, then forgotten to have a shower.

Here goes…

Well, it may look like a triple cream brie, but this is a blue cheese-according to my taste buds.  Now, I actually like blue cheese, and that strong rot taste of blue, but I was certainly not expecting it in this innocuous little “triple cream” number.  The texture is completely divine, as it should be in a triple cream, basically butter mixed with whipped cream-it yields, it melts, it runs, all good, but the taste.  How in the world did they get this “blue” flavour into this cheese?  It’s a little salty and lemony-yes, but it tastes of controlled rot and just a hint of vomit.  How strange.  I wonder if it’s supposed to taste like this? So raunchy!   Actually, I rather like it.  It’s not insipid and benign, that’s for sure.  This is the bait and switch of the cheese world!  Put this one on your cheese plate to freak people out, this little brie is a blue in drag-no one would ever suspect it!

Delice, you naughty little trickster.  I ought to give you a 5 out of 5 for fooling me, but ultimately, I deduct a point for your gastronomical sleight of hand, not all eaters of cheese are as open-minded as I-eat this one with care, friends, it will bite back!